Classics

Peanut butter is food of the gods. I’m serious, ask any God what their favorite food is and they will say peanut butter, it must balance out ambrosia (drink of the gods, never had it) so well.
So as I sit with my cookbooks to my left and my newest recipe to my right and my dog on my lap all I can think about is peanut butter. And how about 2 years ago, when my cousin came over we had Skippy peanut butter. Mmm, now this may seem normal to you, but it was a treat for me. That was the time when we almost always had Omega 3 Peanut Butter (not recommended, it’s to thick). Now we get yummy organic peanut butter, but back to the story. We had been hungry but didn’t want chips, yogurt, granola or any other normal snack, and that was when we saw the peanut butter. So, we each took a spoon took a big glob of peanut butter and sat down to eat. It took time, perseverance, and a lot of work to get the peanut butter unstuck from the top of our mouths, but we did it. Mission accomplished.
If you haven’t already guessed, this recipe is all about the peanut butter. In fact this recipe is called, Peanut Butter Balls, and some variations. But first I must give credit to my aunt from whom I stole this recipe. To read more of her recipes go check out http://www.laineysplate.blogspot.com but remember to come back and read my blog too!
So now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for…. The recipe. And for all you wackos out there who don’t know the meaning of dessert this is a healthy version, yet oh so tasty. But remember that as I write my blog, dessert is meant to be had a few times a week, so if it has some sugar in it WHO THE HECK CARES??? Not me. So go eat chocolate. And then make these wonderfully delicious treats.

The recipe:
1-cup peanut butter
1 1/2 cup powdered milk
1/2-cup honey (the best honey comes form thee beekeepers down the road, beautiful gold honey)
Mix together, chill for 30 minutes then for the mixture in to 1-inch balls and chill for at least one hour. Eat and enjoy. The product:

MMM... I love peanut butter balls

Various Variations:
Banana Peanut Butter Balls- purée one banana in a food processor, add to mix, add 1 tsp. Cinnamon, 2 tsp. Vanilla and one more 1/2 cup dry milk powder.

PB and J- press your pointer finger into the center of the peanut butter balls and onto it place a dollop of jelly (I used strawberry and blackberry). Fold the sides up around the jelly

Now for the good stuff, if you plan on eating this for dessert, you need a little bit of sugar.
First, the chocolate sauce,
Place 1/4 cup milk on the stove on medium heat until it simmers. Cut up 1 oz. Bakers unsweetened baking chocolate and stir into the heating mixture. Add in one cup chocolate chips (I use dark), and add extra milk as needed. The chocolate sauce:

Chocolate Sauce
Then take a 1 tbsp. Measuring Spoon and dip this into the slightly cooled chocolate sauce. Next, place the peanut butter ball into the measuring spoon, leave one half uncovered and place them chocolate side down on wax paper. The finised product:

Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls

Once you are done making all of the peanut butter balls, place them in Tupperware containers on top of wax paper; make sure that the layers are separated by wax paper.

Now, this recipe comes with a warning. These are highly addicting and disappear in lightning speed. So, good luck trying to keep these in the fridge for any substantial amount of time. Enjoy!!!!!

From our home to yours, good luck, good food and good eats,
Marley

2 thoughts on “Classics

  1. Oooh, Marc and I are going to have to make that when I am out in LA in March. He will love it, in all of its variations. Me, I usually only like peanut butter right off the spoon.

  2. oh yum. I love peanut butter! It’s like peanuts…… and butter. Together. George Washington Carver was a real genius, yes he was. Albert Einstein was amazing and everything… but did he invent peanut butter? I think not. What does the theory of relativity matter if the world is deprived of peanut butter?

Leave a comment