Moves like Jagger

 

When I was a wee little one, I went to my first dance class. Barefoot and full of energy, I ran about the room with the poise of a rhinoceros.

d5c3ac29bd674f4aa98e3afcd5cc22bd

These days, I’m more like a baby elephant. But not for lack of trying to be otherwise (I promise Mom and Dad I TRY to be quiet…I just also fail).

Despite the face that my limbs have not transformed from 15 years of dance, my heart, mind and soul have.

To Ginny: From the moment you gave me my invisible string I felt blessed by a goddess. Your patience, grace, love, and encouragement have given me the belief in myself to take the world by storm. With you as our guide, dancing was so much more.

IMG_2591.JPG

To Dana: You instilled us with elegance and sass, a dangerous (and fun) combination. You motivated us to be the change we wanted to see the world, and reminded us daily not to let the world tame us. Thank you ❤

1b9e49d3027bec754b6b7f9fdd804ba5

IMG_2589.JPG

And when formal dance education ends, crazy dancing with friends begins…

To Kayla: Thank you for random dancing to disney songs when it was 2am and we were still doing homework in a building neither of us can pronounce, laughing at our dysfunction, keeping me sane through first semester of freshman year, being the light in my day and my person for always, and for becoming even more like a sister and staying by my side even when we’re 300 miles apart (303 to be exact).

IMG_5952.JPG

Then (when we didn’t have our lives together) and Now (when we still don’t)

IMG_4585.JPG

 

Without all of you I’d still be a rhino, and hunters keep trying to poach them so I’d probably be dead…and I kind of really enjoy living…

ANYWHO…why have I made you listen to me reminisce about dancing years gone by?

Because  when the weather gets rough, you can always dance in the rain!

haters-gonna-hate-dancing-in-the-rain

hehe hehe hehe hehe

So that’s what we’re going to do 🙂

3c407868a7ce43b14619ede839000639

And with that, the final five Sustainable Development Goals for 2030:

sustanaible-1

Goal 13: Climate Action

As the UN puts it “Climate change presents the single biggest threat to development.”

And if we can’t get the government to believe us, we’ll just have to do the heavy lifting

(It’s okay people, I work out…2lb weights count, right?)

d4710d2c12f4942fe94b1255dbe53f5c2a2cffaa26d38d22cda79df5eacf59a4

But seriously, this one’s on us. (I’ve only been talking about this for two and a half months…)

Goal 14: Life Below Water

If nothing else gets to you, at least tell me you’re willing to save Dory.

tumblr_o6et75gmmb1u2if3uo1_1280

WE MUST FIND HER

(And save the lakes, oceans, rivers, ponds, streams, and puddles from pollution and disappearing biodiversity.)

info-polarbear-640x640

I highly recommend you watch “Damnation” (which will make you say “Damn we need to fix this nation” mwahaha)

Goal 15: Life on Land

You know how people have been telling you to plant a tree for years?

This time, do it.

tumblr_inline_nyef9tgnft1tdnym7_1280

when-last-tree-is-cut-cant-eat-money-save-arctic-life-quotes-sayings-pictures

Goal 16: Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

We need to be held accountable for our actions, our choices, and our future.

It’s in our hands.

Make something of it.

1620peace20and20justice20strong20institutions

Some say we’ve reached a negative tipping point, we’re doomed.

I say the time has never been better to be the change you want to see in the world.

227768-peace-is-not

Goal 17: Partnership for the Goals

It takes two to tango, and it takes every person for peace.

1720partnerships20for20the20goals

 

THIS is our time (*powerful voice inflection* *assumes wonder woman stance*)

 

Hugs and power poses ❤

 

Live, laugh, love, bake,

Marley

P.S. Always give in to your wanderlust

 

Leave a Reply

