Aside

The world is raging with a wild debate:

Coffee or Tea?

Tread carefully my friends for it is about to get messy, the contestants have been prepping for weeks and now is the time for the final showdown.

On the coffee side of life:

On the tea side of life:

But how do we really go about choosing a side? I mean you can’t simply go in blindly! This takes years of carefully considered morning beverages, and a few burned tongues later you’re allowed to make an informed decision.

The best way to figure out where you really sip? Biscotti.

Now it’s time for the recipe with a title longer than the ingredients list (but we all know I love to ramble :D)

Cranberry Pecan Biscotti Filled with Chocolatey Goodness, a Hint of White Chocolate and More Vanilla Than Any Sane Person Would Find Necessary .

2 1/3 cups flour

1 cup sugar

1 3/4 tsp. baking powder

2 eggs

2 egg whites

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

3/4 cup chopped pecans

1 1/2 cups coarsely chopped cranberries

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/2 tsp. vanilla powder (not required, but it’s a fabulous addition to fuel my vanilla addiction)

2-4 oz. chopped white chocolate (I only used 2 oz. but that was because I ran out, it was sad…sniffle sniffle)

1/2 cup chocolate chips (The Ghirardelli 60% Cacao ones are my favorites but the Nestle version works quite nicely as well)

The Destructions:

1. Combine dry ingredients. DON’T MESS UP BECAUSE THEN THE WORLD COULD END AND THAT WOULD BE REALLY UPSETTING. No pressure though.

2. Beat the eggs, egg whites, and vanilla together in a small bowl. Watch as it gets frothy like a bubble bath. Bubble baths are great. Especially if you have a rubber ducky.

 His name is Alfie. Like the adorable nugget from Little Rascals.

In fact once you have made your biscotti you should really sit and watch the movie.

 

And if you need instructions for how to care for your pet rubber duck please click here. It is terribly important that you not mistreat this loving pet.

3. Anyways…I was doing something wasn’t I? Maybe I should get back to that.

Add the egg mixture to the dry mixture and mix until combined (do not overmix).

4. Add in the fillings.

5. Split the batter in half and pat each into a 14 inch log. Bake for 30 minutes.

6. Let cool (this allows the biscotti to harden so that when you bake it next it really crisps up).

7. Reduce oven temp to 300 degrees Fahrenheit, cut the biscotti into 1/2 inch thick diagonal slices and bake (standing on end so both sides are exposed) for 20-30 minutes more.

And now you must decide:

Do you believe anything is possible with enough coffee? Or will you be joining the Queen for tea time?  The choice is yours.

By the time I got my camera it was almost all gone. Oopsies :)

By the time I got my camera it was almost all gone. Oopsies :)

Live, laugh, love, bake,

Marley and Me

P.S. I’d choose tea

Baby it’s Cold Outside

4 responses »

  1. Marley, do you still have your French Onion Soup Recipe? I’m afraid I missed your post and I really would like to have it whenever you get a chance. It was outstanding!
    Thanks,
    Ellie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

